Teas-day Ten: Provocative Covers for Provocative Reads.

June 22, 2010 at 2:05 pm 3 comments

I’m going to try to compile one list each Tuesday, as I was inspired by what we’re doing over in The Broke and the Bookish blog.
This Tuesday’s list is Provocative Covers for Provocative Reads, in which the cover is what attracts you, but the book itself keeps you enticed.  The images may be a tad big, but this week’s list is partly about the book covers, after all.  Enjoy!

1.


Ice
Land, by Betsy Tobin.
I’ll be honest.  When I bought this one, it was purely because of the cover.  The swirl of the dress, the realistic scenery – and, of course, the title.  Who doesn’t want to read about Iceland?  The book itself is great, too – I can’t resist Norse mythology, especially when it’s Freya-centric.

2.

Kushiel’s Chosen, by Jacqueline Carey.
There is a well-proportioned, presumably attractive woman on the cover, who is wearing a sexy red dress with a dangerously low back, and an unique tattoo (“marque”, as it’s called in the series) in bold black spanning the length of her spine.  This just screams, “There’s a story here.  Read me to find out what.”  So I did, and it’s one of the most worthwhile reads in my life.  There’s quite a cult following behind the Kushiel’s Legacy series, and you would not BELIEVE the amount of people who have actually gone out and gotten this same tattoo on their backs.  The author, Carey, has a whole page on her website devoted to images people have sent in of this tattoo.

3.

Leviathan, by Scott Westerfeld
First off, the cover is shiny.  You can’t quite see it in the picture, but in person, it glints  I am greatly attracted to shiny things.  Secondly, it looks badass with the machinery making intricate patterns.  Combine this with the ominous title of Leviathan and you’re sold – or rather, the book is sold.  This was my first introduction to the Steampunk genre, and, while I’m still not entirely sure what that means, I know I’ll be looking for more.

4.

Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, by Vicki Myron.
Look at it.  Just LOOK at it.  If you have any appreciation for cats whatsoever, you most likely want to gently nuzzle your computer screen with your nose, trying to get as close as possible to the adorableness.  When reading it, I let out so many “awwws” I sounded like I was watching a Julia Roberts romance movie; Dewey is much better than Julia Robers.

5.

Orcs, by Stan Nicholls.
It’s straightforward.  It doesn’t leave any doubt as to what this book is about.  You want orcs?  You’re getting them – or rather, they’re getting you.  After I finished I had a new-found respect for these creatures, since they’re painted in such a negative light in The Lord of the Rings.  In any case, I’d definitely want an orc on my side in a bar fight.

6.

Suicide and Attempted Suicide: Methods and Consequences, by Geo Stone.
I will begin by saying that I read this book purely out of curiosity, and not because I’m contemplating committing the act.  I could probably write an entire article based on the potential controversy this book could induce, but I’m including it here, because the cover is a lovely brand of funny called “dark humor”.  A hangman?  Really?  Oh yes.  They WENT there.  Naturally, this appealed to my cynical, snarky sense of humor.

7.

Not Yet Drown’d, by Peg Kingman
It’s not your typical “SOS” drowning image.  It almost looks as though the woman on the cover is “drowning” willingly; it’s graceful and easy.  A lot of artistic thought was put into the cover.   This is another one I bought for the cover, and was impressed by the story as well.  It’s not every day you read a story that connects Scotland to India.

8.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Volume 1: The Millennium Puzzle, by Kazuki Takahashi
Yes, it’s manga.  Once you get past that, take a look at the character on the front.  If you’re asking yourself, “Is that his hair?” then you know why I included it here.  If you’re wondering, “Is it provocative?”  Provocative enough that it spawned an international trading card game that’s still played today, not to mention two spin-off series.  “Is it the hair?”  Quite possibly.

9.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, by Seth Grahame-Smith
This one speaks for itself, I’m sure.  No explanation necessary.

10.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon
At first glance, this one doesn’t impress.  The cover is plain and minimalistic, until you notice the upside-down poodle.  You stare.  Your head makes the connection between the title and the cover.  Next thing you know, you’re out the door, a few dollars short and the book in hand.  The story is as strange as its cover, just as minimalistic and… well, curious.

There’s one more I would have loved to include in this list, but unfortunately I only just bought it from the library and haven’t had a chance to read it yet.  Meet Hidden, by Paul Jaskunas:

Doesn’t it entice you?  It did me.  I was even more intrigued upon discovering that it’s written in a woman’s point-of-view, though the author is male – and to make things more interesting, the female protagonist is searching for the man who assaulted her.  From a male author?  That’s quite an undertaking!  I’m anxious to see what Jaskunas did with it.

Entry filed under: June 2010, list.

Teas on Faith and Quirky Rabbis. Teas on Optimism and Divorce.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cyna  |  June 22, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Gotta admit, the Kushiel books caught my eye when I worked at the book store, couple years back. Still remember the weird name and premised, wanna check em out if they ever get them in at the local library.

    And Leviathon, just wow. Shiny is great, but my eye was instantly drawn to the steam-punk wings, which reminded me of this:

    which is from one of my favorite manga series, so yeah. Instant score.

    lol Yu-Gi’s hair. Oh, manga, you and your ridiculously impossible hairstyles.

    Have you seen the cover for Dawn of the Dreadfuls? I think that might trump P&P&Z’s, it’s great.

    Reply
    • 2. teasandreads  |  June 23, 2010 at 4:53 am

      I can understand waiting for the library to carry them… so many of the books I’ve read I’ve gotten from the library, because I don’t want to go out and spend money in case I don’t like it.

      Is that Sakura from Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle? I heard the manga got really, really weird at some point – as in, Fai becoming a vampire, and Syaoran not actually being Syaoran. At the time I’d only read up to volume 7 (because the library only carried that much), so I just never picked it up again.
      In any case, I can definitely see the resemblance between the two images!

      I would have definitely included Dawn of the Dreadfuls, except I haven’t read it yet. I might at some point do a list based purely on covers.

      Reply
      • 3. Cyna  |  June 26, 2010 at 1:51 am

        Yeah, well our town doesn’t have a book store, so the library is pretty much our only option, besides Wally World. And since the library usually gets all the stuff Wally World has pretty quickly, there doesn’t seem any point to purchasing at the moment.

        No, it’s actually Suu from Clover, but it’s by the same manga-ka, so you were close :) Oh yes, TRC got *very* weird and I still don’t fully understand it, despite it having been over for almost a year now. Yeah, there were vampires and clones and clones of clones…it was insane. But very, very pretty.

        haha, to be honest I haven’t read all of it either – saw it in Wal Mart and read the first chapter or so. It was really good from what I read though – closer to what I expected from P&P&Z. At any rate, definitely looked like a fun read.

        I’m a bit partial to this one too though

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to Teas and Reads and receive notifications of new rants and raves by email.

Join 11 other followers


